Skip to main content

Course Outline

There are four levels of restraint or retention.

  • Level 1 holsters keep the gun in the holster through friction only.
  • Level 2 holsters use friction plus an additional restraint. This restraint could be a thumb strap, a flip-up strap, an automatic lock, or some other device.
  • Level 3 holsters use friction plus two additional restraints.
  • Level 4 holsters use friction plus three additional restraints. However, it is unlikely that a civilian would need this level of restraint.
Example of Level 1 holster

Level 1 holster

  • Unit 2 of 4
  • Topic 9 of 9
  • Page 4 of 6